Sri Lanka announce the Champions Trophy squad
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:WPUJC Vaas, HMCM Bandara
Event:ICC Champions Trophy 2009/10

DateLine: 31st August 2009


Sri Lanka have named the 15-man squad for the Champions Trophy 2009. The legspinner Malinga Bandara and seamers Dilhara Fernando and Isuru Udana have being dropped from the side. Chaminda Vaas who retired from Tests but wants to play one-dayers till the 2011 World Cup has also being axed from the side.


Sri Lanka's fast-bowling department will be led by the in-form pair of Nuwan Kulasekara and Thilan Thushara, and supported by the pace of Lasith Malinga and Dammika Prasad.


The selectors have, however, kept their faith in the trio of Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Samaraweera and Thilina Kandamby.


Sri Lanka : Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga, Thilina Kandamby