England announce Ashes 2010 squad
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:MS Panesar, CT Tremlett
Event:England in Australia 2010/11

DateLine: 7th October 2010


The English selectors have included Monty Panesar, Chris Tremlett and Tim Bresnan in England's 16-man squad for the Ashes 2010. Tremlett, who won the last of his three Test caps against India in 2007, is recalled to the England set up for the first time since the tour of New Zealand in 2008. While Panesar wins a place in the tour party after a successful domestic season which saw him take 52 first-class wickets for his new county.


Davies will act as back-up wicketkeeper to Matt Prior is the only member of the touring party uncapped at Test level.


Ajmal Shahzad will form part of the performance squad that will play several matches in Australia between 12 November and 16 December. Michael Carberry, Craig Kieswetter and James Tredwell, who have all represented the senior England side over the past 12 months, are also among those included.


Jonathan Trott and Steven Finn have been awarded central contracts.


England Ashes Test squad : Andrew Strauss (captain), Alastair Cook (vice-captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Steven Davies (wicketkeeper), Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott


England Performance Programme squad : Jimmy Adams, Jonny Bairstow, Danny Briggs, Michael Carberry, Maurice Chambers, Jade Dernbach, Andrew Gale, James Hildreth, Craig Kieswetter, Adam Lyth, Liam Plunkett, Ajmal Shahzad, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes