India crush Australia to retain Border-Gavaskar Trophy
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Ground:M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
Scorecard:India v Australia
Player:CA Pujara, SR Tendulkar
Event:Australia in India 2010/11

DateLine: 13th October 2010


The number one ranked Test side India defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the second and final Test to win the two-Test series 2-0. India chased down the victory target of 207 runs just after tea with Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid remaining unbeaten on 53 and 21 respectively.


Tendulkar reached his 58th Test half-century with a boundary off Nathan Hauritz and also hit the winning runs. This is India's first Test victory in 15 years in Bangalore. Cheteshwar Pujara top scored for India in the second innings with a magnificent 72. Playing his debut Test and promoted to the number three spot in the batting order in the second innings, Pujara hit a 65-ball fifty to take India closer to victory.


Pujara's knock ended when he was clean bowled by Hauritz with a gem of a delivery. Earlier, first innings centurion Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara took India to 73/1 at lunch after Virender Sehwag fell cheaply for seven. Both Vijay and Pujara scored at a brisk pace of 6.08 run per over and have added 56 runs of 9.4 overs and they reached the 50 mark in 43 minutes of 8.2 overs.


Indian bowlers did a commendable job to bowl Australia out for 223 in 75.2 overs midway into the morning session at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Australia set a victory target of 207 runs for India after pacers Zaheer Khan and Sreesanth polished off visitors' tail in the first hour of the opening session. The Australians added 21 runs to their overnight score of 202 for seven and ended up being dismissed for 223. Aussies lost three wickets this morning with Zaheer dismissing Mitchell Johnson and Peter George and Sreesanth scalping Hauritz.