South Africa name Elgar, Kleinveldt in ODI squad
by Pakistan Cricket Website

Player:D Elgar, RK Kleinveldt

DateLine: 1st January 2012


South Africa have made three changes in their 14-man squad. For the first two ODIs, Dean Elgar, the debutant left-handed batsman and pacer Rory Kleinveldt are in the announced team. After recovering from injury, AB de Villiers will be the skipper after he sat out the matches against Australia.


Elgar played well for the Knights and this led to being selected as the only rookie while Kleinveldt has already played in two T20s for South Africa during the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies.


Mark Boucher misses out as de Villiers will also keep wicket and Elgar comes in place of David Miller. The selectors have also dumped leg-spinner Imran Tahir for Kleinveldt.


"We have chosen a squad of 14 for the first two games only," Andrew Hudson, said. Those members of the squad who are not involved in the final Test match in Newlands next week will be released to play for their franchises before the squad assembles on January 9.


Cricket South Africa's selection boss Andrew Hudson said, "There have been a number of batsmen showing good form in domestic cricket, and Elgar fully deserves his opportunity.


"He was the leading run-scorer in the One-Day Cup (567 runs) and also had the best average (81). In addition he gives us very useful bowling options as a left-arm spinner.


"Kleinveldt played an important role with the ball in helping the Cobras to win the One-Day Cup and he also has a lot of potential as a lower-order power hitter."


"We feel we won't need three front line spinners in South African conditions as, so it makes sense to change the bowling balance of the squad slightly," he added.


Kleinveldt was the second-highest wicket-taker for the Cobras, taking 13 wickets in nine matches.


With Johan Botha and Robin Peterson, two experienced spinners in the side, Hudson said the committee didn't feel the need to include Imran, even though he is a great legspinner/googly bowler.


Boland Park, Paarl, hosts the first match starting January 11, 2012.

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2012 Pakistan Cricket Website)