Indian Premier League auction in Goa on February 6
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:A Flintoff, KP Pietersen, SR Patel, Z Khan, A Nehra, S Dhawan, DA Warner, AJ Macdonald, JN Shah, G Dhiman, Pankaj Singh, RV Uthappa, BJ Hodge, BAW Mendis, DJ Bravo, CK Kapugedera

DateLine: 24th January 2009


The auction of overseas players for DLF-IPL season II will take place in Goa on February 6.


The governing council of the IPL will also hold a three-day meeting there after which the eight franchises will get a chance to buy players to fill the remaining slots for overseas players.


England players — Andrew Flintoff, Kevin Pietersen, Samit Patel — and a few more are likely to figure in the auction. The second edition of the DLF-IPL Twenty20 will be played from April 10 to May 29.


Seven traded


Meanwhile, IPL on Friday announced that in all seven players were traded in the last one month. A press release said that 82 enquiries were made for 54 players (36 Indian and 18 overseas) during the one-month long trading window that closed on Thursday. Seventeen players were sought for by more than one franchisee.


Seamer Zaheer Khan will play for Mumbai Indians and Robin Uthappa for Royal Challengers, Bangalore. Seamer Ashsih Nehra will represent Delhi Daredevils and Shikhar Dhawan for Mumbai Indians.


In a three-way trade, Jaydev Shah of Rajasthan Royals will move to Mumbai Indians, Gaurav Dhiman of Mumbai Indians will turn out for Royal Challengers, Bangalore, while Pankaj Singh of Rajasthan Royals will move over to Royal Challengers.


Outside of the trading and auction, Delhi Daredevils has signed Australians David Warner and Andrew MacDonald.


Players traded: Zaheer Khan from Royal Challengers to Mumbai Indians; Robin Uthappa from Mumbai Indians to Royal Challengers; Ashish Nehra from Mumbai Indians to Delhi Daredevils; Shikhar Dhawan from Delhi Daredevils to Mumbai Indians; Jaydev Shah from Rajasthan Royals to Mumbai Indians; Gaurav Dhiman from Mumbai Indians to Royal Challengers and Pankaj Singh from Rajasthan Royals to Royal Challengers.


Fresh recruits: David Warner and Andrew McDonald (Delhi Daredevils), Ryan Harris (Deccan Chargers).


Long-term contracts: Kolkata Knight Riders (Brad Hodge and Ajantha Mendis), Mumbai Indians (Dwayne Bravo) and Chennai Super Kings (Chamara Kapugedera).