India v South Africa
ICC World Twenty20 2009 (Group E)
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 16th June 2009 (20-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Africa won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Africa won by 12 runs
PointsIndia 0; South Africa 2
UmpiresBF Bowden (New Zealand), IJ Gould
TV umpireSJA Taufel (Australia)
RefereeBC Broad
Reserve UmpireNJ Llong
Man of the MatchAB de Villiers
ArticlesIndia end with a whimper
PicturesYuvraj Singh on fire
 Rohit Sharma playing a shot
 Rohit Sharma plays on the leg side
 Gambhir playing a shot
 List of all pictures

South Africa inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
*GC Smithc Jadeja b Harbhajan Singh2626372-100.00
HH Gibbsb RP Singh5371-166.67
AB de Villiersc and b Jadeja6351567-123.53
JP Duminyst Dhoni b Raina101520--66.67
+MV Boucherc RP Singh b Khan1115171-73.33
JA Morkelnot out88131-100.00
J Bothanot out4231-200.00
RE van der Merwedid not bat      
M Morkeldid not bat      
WD Parnelldid not bat      
DW Steyndid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 1 w)3
Total(5 wickets, innings closed, 20 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Gibbs, 1.4 ov), 2-59 (Smith, 8.3 ov), 3-98 (Duminy, 14.4 ov), 4-110 (de Villiers, 17.2 ov), 5-120 (Boucher, 19.2 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Khan3   02611-18.008.67
RP Singh2   0211--12.0010.50
I Sharma1   060---6.00
Jadeja3   091--18.003.00
RG Sharma2   0150---7.50
Yuvraj Singh4   0250---6.25
Harbhajan Singh4   0201--24.005.00
Raina1   061--6.006.00

India inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
G Gambhirc Duminy b Botha2119273-110.53
RG Sharmac Steyn b Duminy2928393-103.57
SK Rainac M Morkel b Botha387--37.50
Yuvraj Singhc Boucher b Steyn25254711100.00
*+MS Dhonirun out (Boucher->M Morkel)51211--41.67
YK Pathanc de Villiers b van der Merwe022--0.00
Harbhajan Singhc de Villiers b Botha1415181193.33
RA Jadejanot out7614--116.67
Z Khanc de Villiers b Steyn431--133.33
RP Singhnot out224--100.00
I Sharmadid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 4 w)8
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 20 overs)118
Fall of wickets:
1-48 (Gambhir, 6.2 ov), 2-55 (Raina, 8.6 ov), 3-56 (RG Sharma, 9.5 ov), 4-67 (Dhoni, 12.5 ov), 5-69 (Pathan, 13.3 ov), 6-100 (Harbhajan Singh, 17.2 ov), 7-106 (Yuvraj Singh, 18.2 ov), 8-110 (Khan, 18.5 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Steyn3   02521-9.008.33
Parnell3   0220---7.33
M Morkel4   02301--5.75
JA Morkel1   0120---12.00
Botha4   0163--8.004.00
van der Merwe4   0131--24.003.25
Duminy1   0311-6.003.00

--> South Africa powerplay 1: overs 1 to 6 (47/1)
--> India powerplay 1: overs 1 to 6 (47/0)
--> South Africa innings: 50 in 6.3 overs
--> South Africa innings: 100 in 16.1 overs
--> India innings: 50 in 6.6 overs
--> India innings: 100 in 16.6 overs
--> RP Singh made his last appearance in International Twenty20 matches
--> GC Smith passed 500 runs in International Twenty20 matches when he reached 23
--> AB de Villiers 50 in 41 balls with 6 fours
--> M Morkel made his debut in England in International Twenty20 matches
--> J Botha achieved his best innings bowling analysis in International Twenty20 matches when he dismissed Harbhajan Singh in the India innings (previous best was 2-15)