Auckland v Canterbury
Shell Cup 1986/87
VenueEden Park, Auckland on 31st December 1986 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossCanterbury won the toss and decided to field
ResultAuckland won by 21 runs
PointsAuckland 2; Canterbury 0
UmpiresDB Cowie, JJ Nilsson
ScorersPN Culpan, MR Kerly
Man of the MatchSR Gillespie

Auckland inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
RB Reidb Hintz2331354-74.19
PA Hornec Lawrence b Hintz232344--100.00
DN Patelrun out1934461-55.88
JJ Crowerun out722261-31.82
*PN Webbc Brown b Hintz1661104--26.23
JG Bracewellc Roberts b Hartshorn1627262-59.26
MC Sneddenc Wright b Hartshorn622171-27.27
SR Gillespiec McEwan b Hartshorn2540302-62.50
+PJ Kellyc McEwan b Hintz614281-42.86
GB Troupb Roberts267--33.33
DK Morrisonnot out012--0.00
Extras(10 lb, 3 w)13
Total(all out, 46.1 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-44 (Reid), 2-51 (Horne), 3-70 (Crowe), 4-79 (Patel), 5-101 (Bracewell), 6-108 (Snedden), 7-137 (Gillespie), 8-153 (Webb), 9-156 (Troup), 10-156 (Kelly, 46.1 ov)
Canterbury bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Roberts8   0381--48.004.75
Lawrence10   0330---3.30
Brown10   3220---2.20
Hartshorn10   2303--20.003.00

Canterbury inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
A Nathub Snedden185755-131.58
*JG Wrightc Reid b Gillespie656661-10.71
PE McEwanb Patel1348591-27.08
DJ Boylest Kelly b Patel2915--22.22
RT Lathamb Troup3346843-71.74
DJ Hartshornlbw b Gillespie1527291-55.56
VR Brownc Horne b Snedden1114182-78.57
CWH Lawrencec Kelly b Troup016--0.00
+BJ Wardb Morrison31015--30.00
AJ Hintzb Troup91426--64.29
SJ Robertsnot out111414-178.57
Extras(1 b, 7 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)14
Total(all out, 48.3 overs)135
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Nathu), 2-30 (Wright), 3-39 (Boyle), 4-58 (McEwan), 5-95 (Hartshorn), 6-110 (Brown), 7-111 (Latham), 8-112 (Lawrence), 9-120 (Ward), 10-135 (Hintz, 48.3 ov)
Auckland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Bracewell10   6100---1.00
Patel10   2242--30.002.40
Snedden10   2342--30.003.40
Gillespie10   2212--30.002.10
Webb1   080---8.00
Morrison3   191--18.003.00

--> CWH Lawrence made his debut in List A matches
--> SR Gillespie passed his previous highest score of 23 in List A matches
--> DJ Hartshorn passed his previous highest score of 13 in List A matches
--> AJ Hintz achieved his best innings bowling analysis in List A matches when he dismissed PA Horne in the Auckland innings (previous best was 1-29)
--> DJ Hartshorn achieved his best innings bowling analysis in List A matches in the Auckland innings (previous best was 3-38)

12th men: DG Scott and CW Flanagan